Help & FAQ

  1. Home
  2. Help & FAQ
  3. Employer
  4. Managing Your Job

Managing Your Job

Once you’ve hired a Freelancer, the system will create a workroom for your job. This will be the place for you to communicate with your Freelancer.

Communicating with all Freelancer you’ve hired at once:

You can communicate via the “Discussions” page. This communication is shared among Freelancer that were also hired for this job.

  1. Navigate to the job in question.
  2. Click the “Discussions” tab.

Starting a new topic within the “Discussions” page:

  1. Navigate to the job in question.
  2.  Click the “Discussions” tab.
  3. Click the “Start Discussion” button.

Commenting within an existing discussion:

  1. Navigate to the job in question.
  2. Click the “Discussions” tab.
  3. Click the discussion thread title.
  4. Click “Add Comment”.
  5. Write your comment.
  6. Click “Add”.

Direct communication such as Skype or email is also an option.  Use whatever you feel most comfortable with and best fits the needs of your business.

Communicating privately with a Freelancer:

You can communicate privately with Freelancer using private messaging. Messages will be listed at the bottom of each job’s workroom or from the “Messages” tab.

Initiating a private message:

  1. From the dashboard, click on a job underneath the “Quotes” tile.
  2. Find a Freelancer you’d like to send a message to.
  3. Click “Reply” at the top right of their quote.

Responding to a private message:

  1. From the dashboard, click the “Messages” tab.
  2. Find the new message.
  3. Click on the message to view it.

Responding to private messages via email:

  1. Find the private message notification email in your email’s inbox.
  2. View the email.
  3. Click “reply” from within your email client.
  4. Type your message, attach any files and click “send”.

Private message guidelines:

  • Do not modify the subject line or your message will not send.
  • Limit your message to 5,000 characters.
  • Do not use HTML or special formatting as it will be stripped and could cause your email to be illegible.
  • Limit total attachments to 10 MB.
  • Limit attachments to the following file types:  gif, jpg, jpeg, pdf, ppt, txt, doc, swf, html, htm, wav, mov, avj, mpeg, mpg, xls, mp3, psd, tif, tiff, eps, png, mdb, mde, zip, bmp, qxd, docx, pptx, wmv, xlsx.

Private message terms of use:

ForPX.com reserves the right to bypass warnings and disable access at any time.

  • First offense — Message content blocked. Warning issued.
  • Second offense — Message content blocked. Use of message board disabled for 15 days.
  • Third offense — Message content blocked. Use of message board disabled for 30 days.
  • Additional offenses — Message content blocked. Use of message board disabled for 30 days.

Using Questions and Answers:

  1. Find a job from your “Quotes” tile.
  2. Click “View Posting”.
  3. Click “Questions and Answers” to expand this section.

Questions and Answers terms of use:

In order to maintain the quality of service on ForPX.com, postings to this section are reviewed by our quality assurance team. Employers and Freelancer who abuse communication tools are in violation of its Terms of Use and will be penalized.

Questions and answers that include the following are considered abusive:

  • Derogatory or sarcastic statements
  • Self-promotional content (resumes, proposals, professional background, an indication of your willingness or ability to do the job, mock-ups or samples)
  • Questions that ask if the Employer will accept applications outside of the project scope or location.
  • Message board abuse warnings and penalties
  • ForPX.com reserves the right to bypass warnings and disable access at any time.
  1. First offense — Message content blocked. Warning issued.
  2. Second offense — Message content blocked. Use of Project Q&A tool disabled for 15 days.
  3. Third offense — Message content blocked. Use of Project Q&A tool disabled for 30 days.
  4. Additional offenses — Message content blocked. Use of Project Q&A tool disabled for 30 days

Announcements:

Announcements are simply bulletin board-like messages you can send to broadcast information about a job. Freelancer cannot respond to these messages.

Announcements are listed in your ForPX.com Inbox and are denoted with a megaphone icon.

There are many reasons why you might want to end a job, but how you end a job will depend on how your WorkRoom is set up.

Here are the three steps we recommend:

  1. If there are funds in SafePay, submit a SafePay Release Request to distribute the SafePay funds.
  2. Stop your active agreement. After all SafePay funds have been distributed, you can stop the agreement by visiting the Agreement section of the workroom. The current or “active” agreement will be at the top of the section and you will see a green checkmark next to the word “current”.
  3. Click on the agreement type (Fixed Price by Milestone, Hourly by Time Tracked, etc.) to view the Agreement. Select the stop button at the bottom of the active agreement page. If all agreements are already inactive, you can skip this step.

Note: You can “Archive” a Freelancer so they it is no longer shown on the manage page. To archive a Freelancer, visit the WorkRoom, and select the gray down arrow to the right of the Freelancer’s profile photo and select “Archive” from the drop-down menu.

The workroom is specific to each job you hire a Freelancer for. It allows you to manage the job and gives you information concerning the job’s current status.

There are a few tabs at the top of the workroom:

Overview:

The overview is the primary tab at the top of the workroom. This is your default view and shows you information concerning the specific freelancer you’re viewing. Everything you see here is between you and the freelancer you’re viewing.

Alerts:

This is a list of job-related alerts. And gives you an easy way to reference when major milestones have occurred, such as a pending agreement and when SafePay is funded.

Tasks:

Assign tasks to anyone hired for the job. Anyone hired for the particular job you’re viewing can access this page.

Discussions:

This is a public discussion area. Anyone hired for your job can participate in the conversation. Anything you want to say privately should NOT be posted here and should instead be sent as a private message.

Files:

This is a public files area. Anyone hired for your job can upload files here. Any files you want to share privately should NOT be uploaded here and should instead be attached in a private message.

Once you click back on the Overview tab, you’ll see some more tabs that pertain to each specific Freelancer you’ve hired. You’ll see the Freelancer’s name and profile picture in the overview to indicate which Freelancer you are interacting with.

Understanding the main sections of the overview:

Status Updates:

This section displays the status of the job as it pertains to the agreement. If no agreement is accepted, this area remains more-or-less empty.

If you accept a fixed-price agreement this section will display all of the milestones your Freelancer sent you in their agreement. They will display their status and due date.

If you accept an hourly agreement this section will display the current week and any time your Freelancer has tracked. If they use Time Tracker you’ll see screenshots of their work. You’ll also see the current weeks invoice if the system has sent one.

Agreement:

From this tab you can view the current agreement. You can also view the agreement’s status at the top right and view previous agreements if there are any.

SafePay:

From this tab, see the current SafePay balance as well as the SafePay transaction history to keep track of invoice payments, refunds and SafePay funding. You can also request a refund.

Purchase Order Number:

This is an optional feature you can utilize if it helps with your accounting.

Files can be uploaded to the workroom for everyone to view and download.

Uploading files to the workroom:

  1. Navigate to the job in question.
  2. Click the “Files” tab.
  3. Click the “Upload Files” button.

File uploading guidelines:

  • You can upload up to 1GB.
  • Use the “Show Versions” option to display previously uploaded versions of a file.
  • Files attached to the “Discussions” page are automatically uploaded to the “Files” page.